No Post Wednesday Is Music Post Wednesday

April 13, 2011

I’ve acquired some new music over the past week and I wanted to mention it.

The Mountain Goats

They have a new album out called All Eternals Deck. Whatever that means.

The album is pretty good. It is the usual Mountain Goats fair with the acoustic guitars and the soft singing and considerately clever lyrics. As for my critique of it(!), well I like it, but I like a lot of their albums much more. To me there are only two stand out tracks and I love them dearly like they were wild creature that I keep in a faux habitat environment I set-up inside one corner of my house and I need to feed them by baby bottle once every 4 hours.

Those two songs are… (in order I love most)

I love this track. Love it! I love calling it a track too. It makes me feel 1970’s British when I call a song a “track”. Anyway, I love it. Every time I listen to it I envision a new Western movie I want to script, then shoot, then make a sequel to. Should it be about mercenary cowboys? Should it be about local sheriff cowboys dealing with corruption? Which idea should I stick with?! I do know that it will be set during the Gold Rush in California and there will be at least one cowboy who wears a skull mask. Oh I want to make a Western so badly when I listen to this song that I clench my jaw so tight I think one of my teeth may chip.

The other song I really love off this album is…

Ooooohhh this is a good song.

Also, I think we can all relate to one lyric in specific…

“God damn these vampires, for what they’ve done to me.”

So true, Mountain Goats. So very true.

Secondly, a new album came out yesterday…

It is from a little known local band called

FOO FIGHTERS!!!!!!

Yes, the fighters of Foo put out a new album. I’ve been hearing their single “Rope” over and over again by choice or not since the 101.9 rock radio station feels it necessary to play it every 10 minutes.

It is a good song. I haven’t listened to the whole album yet. But(!) I found myself watching SNL last weekend and they killed it playing both “Rope” and another song off the album called “Walk”. “Walk” is excellent.

Oh music in my ears I love that song.

So yep.

 

9 Responses to “No Post Wednesday Is Music Post Wednesday”

  1. PWG said

    “Let this whole town hear your knuckles crack.” Ahhh, hmmm. I listened to 30 seconds of each Mountain Goat song, and most of that was playing the two of them at the same time, which made no noticeable difference to the quality. I didn’t like either one, but I have no taste, so that probably means they’re great.

    I wanted to find five people cooler than Dave Grohl per your Twitter challenge, but damn it, I’ve been unable to so far. I keep getting sidetracked by how shiny and luxurious his hair looks. It’s kind of sweaty-looking in this particular clip, but in the 20 other places I’ve seen the man this week it looks fabulous. Anyway I thought that clip was great.

  2. PWG said

    I saw Source Code last night. It wasn’t as bad as I feared, but it doesn’t deserve its 90+ Rotten Tomatoes rating, either. The science actually WAS as bad as I expected, but Jake Gyllenhaal is pretty damn charming. He does have the ability to make a bad movie better just by showing up.

    Like Christopher Walken, or Sam Elliott, or Samuel Jackson. Tell me watching Samuel Jackson getting eaten by a shark wasn’t the best part of Deep Blue Sea. He got eaten by velociraptors in Jurassic Park, too; he’s not too proud to cameo as carnivore food just to make a movie better.

    • kristenstewartwantsit said

      I think my “favorite” scene in “Source Code” was when Jake finally gets to talk to Jeffrey Wright and there is that bit where Wright is saying it is all quantum mechanics and Jake is like yeah, but I’m pretty good with quantum mechanics and then there is like 2 sentences of pseudo science and then they never talk about it again. If I was Jeff Wright, I would’ve been like – listen here bedroom eyes, you don’t know shit about quantum mechanics! I have one working leg and I’ll be bald in a year, that’s why I know about quantum mechanics.

      • PWG said

        In that scene Wright starts explaining and Gyllynhaal’s all, “Yeah, yeah, parabolic calculus, I get it.” I was thinking, “Well he just made that shit up, so either you’re being dismissive or you’re one sciency motherfucking helicopter pilot, Captain Stevens.”

        ::Spoiler::

        What the hell happened to the “real” Sean Fentress there at the end? Day after day this poor history teacher mildly hits on the girl and gets to know his fellow train passengers, and then Boom, he gets headjacked by Gyllenhaal? I don’t know if I want to live in a fake sci-fi world where at any moment my existence could be abruptly ended and replaced by a member of the Gyllenhaal family. Who am I kidding, yes I do.

      • kristenstewartwantsit said

        Well, Sean’s dead.

      • PWG said

        But apparently his body and Jake’s brain are chilling in Millenium Park. So where did Sean’s brain go? Just offline about 8 minutes before the freezeframe? And if Jake’s brain is there, what’s it also doing back at Nellis in half-Jake? I hope Colter knows a little something about history, for his new job in alternate-reality Chicago. He’s more than passing familiar with quantum physics, so it’s possible. All I know is I’d be pretty pissed off if I was flying helos all badass-like, looking like Jake Gyllenhaal one minute, and teaching history to bored teenagers, looking like Fentress the next.

      • kristenstewartwantsit said

        No matter how you look at it – Sean is dead.

        As for Jakie Jake… well, he’s either in an alternate dimension or his consciousness has split in two with all the nifty gizmos and mathy-matics.

        I thought the same thing about whether he knows anything that would serve him as history professor, but he could always switch jobs and join the military again.

        And in all honesty, I couldn’t care less what they do with The Crow. The original is one of my favorite movies of all time. The sequel was horrible. The next sequel was amazingly more horrible. The next sequel after that was similarly unwatchable. The TV show was arguably more complicated than any quantum physics needed to send a person’s consciousness back in time into a recently dead man on a train for 8 minutes over and over again. So, really who cares?

  3. The Mountain Goats are decent. Something about them sounds SO familiar, though. I keep coming back to 90’s-era Counting Crows, maybe? I don’t know. It’s driving me crazy and I’m having trouble getting into it because my brain is hung up on that.

    My friend has a Foo Fighter t-shirt but the font on it is weird so it looks like it says Poo Pighters.

  4. PWG said

    Bradley Cooper in a remake of The Crow? No.

Leave a Reply

