Have a fucking fantastic weekend…

September 21, 2012

I hope you do.

I should be writing something else, but I’m getting sidetracked right and left.

The most recent hurdle in my mental road to accomplishing my task is this article…

http://finance.yahoo.com/blogs/the-exchange/cracking-pin-code-easy-1-2-3-4-130143629.html

It’s about breaking down people’s pin numbers or numeric passwords for really anything.

I’m not sure how I feel about some nerds in Seattle having my passwords for “research purposes”, but it did provide this interesting tid bit of an article.

Apparently, these are the top 20 most common ATM pin codes.

Just for your edification, mine isn’t up there. SUCKERS! That’s fucking right! I’m so fucking unique!

But… at the same time… here are the least used ATM pin codes:

Hmmmm… mine isn’t up there either.

Now, I’m curious where mine ranks, but not curious enough to go find out.

Generally speaking, my pin is nonsensical. I don’t know if one could put it together by looking at a bio of me with all the numbers associated with me like my birthday, street numbers I lived on or any of that. It’s not based on any of that. Actually, I didn’t even make up password. Well, I was the one who picked it, but the number combination was one of the many random ass passwords or number combinations my Dad has came up with that have absolutely no meaning whatsoever.

The man sees the world very differently than others. It’s like he’s Jim Carrey from “The Number 23”, but instead of seeing 23’s everywhere or some type of common theme, he sees common themes in things that are wildly uncommon nor have any theme at all or anything to do with anything, but he sees it. So, he’s crazy. That’s the similarity between him and Carrey. They’re both spouting out about patterns or something and you’re sitting there like Virginia Madsen and mouthing in your own head “what the fuck?”.

For instance, the license plate of my car starts with “NPJ”. NPJ? What does NPJ mean to anyone? Does it mean anything at all? But within seconds of seeing those license plates many years ago, my father’s instantaneous reaction was and I quote, “NPJ? No problem, Jord.” And to this day, I’LL NEVER FUCKING FORGET THAT EVER! Why on Earth would NPJ stand for “No problem, Jord” I’ll never know. I’ll never WANT to know, but it is what it is. There’s no denying it all these years later that the sheer insanity of that moment will stick with me forever. NPJ – No problem, Jord.

Same goes for my pin.

Years earlier, before I ever had an ATM card, we were in a sticky situation of needing to figure out a 4 digit code for something else. It was an argument deciding what number combination should be used. One that we all could remember. As we quietly tried to think of a 4 digit combination that would make sense, my father thought out loud as he oft does and shouted a near endless string of 4 digit possibilities that had no lucid attachment from one to the other.

In the end, I used one of the ones he shouted out as my pin because the number itself isn’t memorable to itself, but memorable for it being apart of this moment in time of wild expression.

And to this day, most passwords I use were past passwords that were randomly assigned to me one time or another that I’ve remembered and transferred over. For years, I used my friend’s password for his mIRC bot (remember that? mIRC? I’M SO OLD!) as many of my passwords.

Either way, to this very day, if I have to fill out paperwork that involves listing my car’s license plate – I remember it immediately because “NPJ” just has to fucking be “No problem, Jord”. Yep.

Have a great weekend.

Don’t take any synthetic drugs.

I’ll see you Monday.

2 Responses to “Have a fucking fantastic weekend…”

  1. PWG said

    I just counted my PINs and passwords on the tool I use to keep track of them: 310. Who the hell could remember 310 passwords if they’re all different like they’re supposed to be? I think this means I’m on the web too much.

    I have to think up a lot of new passwords for my job, so I’ve tried a few things. I’ve used random password generators, memorable phrases, types of trees, colors and roller-derby queen names. It doesn’t matter how secure I make things, some hacker is just going to social engineer a phone company rep into resetting my password one day and then get into my gmail account, which receives all my password reset requests. Then it’s game-over, man, I’ll be screwed. I read some depressing hacking articles lately, and now I think it’s inevitable.

    I applied for the airport CLEAR thing last month, where you give them every personal piece of information you could possibly have besides a DNA swab. In return, you get to truck through the airport security lines faster. In the past, I was the kind of person who protected all of my data vigilantly and diligently, but now I’m of the opinion that it’s all out there already and I might as well make my life convenient in the meantime. I don’t go through the scanners, though, so I get regular crotch pats.

    Here’s a picture of Tim Tebow flexing his muscles on a large tire, too lazy to HREF it: http://www.vogue.com/magazine/article/superman-returns-tim-tebow/#1

  2. Cenię walory informacji, które publikujesz na
    blogu. Czytanie ich to sama zabawa. Styl strony www jest z klasą, i
    artykuły są de facto wybitne:D Dobra robota:) Pozdrawiam.

Leave a Reply

