Hyperbole ahead: no Friday has felt less like a Friday than this one

November 2, 2012

What… the… fuck… up?!

This week has been an odd one. Monday night feels like two weeks ago. I have to keep reminding myself what day is today and how not long ago I did have power at the new house. We’ve got little to no clue when the power is coming back. We’re also a solid 45 minutes away from our place, so if/when the power comes back we’re not there to celebrate it with vodka shots. Our plan is to call the Indian or Italian restaurant or the A&P and see if they have power, which could mean we have power because they’re on the same block as us.

Either way…

This might be the best weekend for movies all year or at the very least in recent memory…

FLIGHT – It’s supposed to be great and one of the obvious Oscar candidates. Denzel Washington rarely makes a bad movie unless a stoppable-unstoppable train is involved in it.

CLOUD ATLAS – It came out last weekend and did HORRIBLE, but a lot of people have been liking it. It’s long and overly romantic and all that, but I’m betting it is pretty good. Or at least watchable. I’m biased, I like the whacky Wachowskis.

WRECK-IT RALPH – Looks amazing. ALTERED BEAST! The movie has the bad guy from Sega Genesis’ Altered Beast. Unbelievable. Also, a million references to a million other videogames. There is no way this movie is bad. It has to be amazing.

THE MAN WITH THE IRON FISTS – I think that’s the title. I’m guessing this movie will be entertaining, but ridiculous. Ridiculous can be fun. Ridiculous can also be goofy and make a viewer lose interest. Waning attention is not good. I’ll see this movie eventually. I’m not rushing to the theater for it. I love the Wu-Tang Clan and I’ll support Rza getting directing jobs enough to see the movies, but my hopes are not too high. I doubt the storyline really flows and is more or less just scenes stapled together.

Outside of that…

Football!

The Kansas City Chiefs should fire everyone from the Kansas City Chiefs because of last night.

This weekend the big game is, biased/unbiased, the Pittsburgh Steelers vs. the New York Giants. 4:30pm on Sunday – my knees will be jumping up and down and my stomach will be cold and my eyes will be deadlocked on some TV somewhere.

What else?

I don’t know. I looked at some pictures of people from the CMA’s last night. I’ve got little to no clue who any of those people are.

Anyway, I should go do some work. UGH WORK! Am I right?

I hope you have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

