I’m glad we survived…

December 21, 2012

Honestly, I wouldn’t have been pissed if I died in the apocalypse.

Seriously, it’s the APOCALYPSE. That seems like the only time it’s ok to die.

But I’m happy none of us had to die because there’s 2 weeks left in the NFL season, I haven’t see Django Unchained yet, I love you all, there’s so much scotch that I want to drink, I’ve never been to South America, there’s that Minka Kelly sex tape out there that I hope I get to see before the end of the world, Game of Thrones season 3 isn’t too far away, Ommegang is making Game of Thrones beers, I’d like to have children someday, I never saw Japandroids in concert, and that Superman movie is coming out next year and I want to see that… just to name a few.

Well… Cory Booker is running for Senate.

Makes sense. Can’t wait to see Booker run for President. If it’s true that the taller man always wins then the GOP needs to wrangle up a 6’7″ former NBA-er or something.

Hmmmm… movies?

JACK REACHER – I want to see it. I’m loving the reviews for the movie – good or bad reviews. They keep mentioning that the movie is more talky and slower than the commercials make it out to be. I’m good with that. I want it to be more talky and slower. The director Christopher McQuarrie usually is a great dialogue writer and is good at making old school style thrillers, which this is supposed to be. I don’t want flash and bang. I want some substance and hopefully McQuarrie pulls that off.

THE GUILT TRIP – It’s not getting the best reviews. From what I’ve seen it is pretty average. I’m a little disappointed because I think the idea is good. I don’t know if Babs would be ok with making a movie kind of spoofing her illustrious sex life, but that’s a good movie to me. But whatever. I’m sure it’s just ok, which is not ok.

THIS IS 40 – People are not loving this. People are liking it, but are making it pretty apparent that the Judd Apatow gag is getting worn thin in this one. A lot of people are making the joke that This is 40 is 40 minutes too long. Which is probably true. Dude makes long comedies. I generally don’t have a problem with that. I bet I’ll like it better than some of these reviewers because I’ve seen some scathing reviews for like The 5 Year Engagement, which I really liked. So, I’m looking forward to it, but I’m also sure it won’t be nearly as good as Knocked Up or 40 Year Old Virgin or any of that. A copy of a copy kind of thing.

ZERO DARK THIRTY – If you’re lucky to be in the “limited release” areas then this movie is getting baller ass reviews. I don’t know if it is that good or that they’re all hoping to nail Katheryn Bigelow now that she’s single or that I’m more or less replaying the same nonsense that Bret Easton Ellis said. She is a good looking woman. I liked Hurt Locker, but didn’t love it. Zero Dark Thirty looks like it should be better as far as being a bigger story that could be more fulfilling than Hurt Locker. I found Hurt Locker to be good, but the story was so small that I wasn’t bowled over by it. I don’t think I’m one of those lucky few in the “limited release” area, so I guess I’m waiting until January like the rest of the suckers out there.

ON THE ROAD – Haven’t watched the whole thing. I watched some of it, but not much. I do want to sit down and watch it.

I think that’s about it.

Have fun with your holiday shopping. I think I got all of mine done.

I hope you also have time to appreciate that we are alive and not dead from the apocalypse and you should celebrate that by probing each others holes with your genitalia.

Have a great weekend.

One Response to “I’m glad we survived…”

  1. PWG said

    I haven’t done a damn bit of Christmas shopping. I have Halloween lights still up in front of my house, and a tree with six ornaments on it.

    I would say 2012 had a 25% level of donkey ball suckage overall for my household. Supporting evidence: death of my dog, death of a cousin and the court date I have this afternoon to testify in support of a permanent restraining order. On the 75% positive side: relative health, living parents, steady paychecks, one old and decrepit but still breathing dog and Mr. PWG & PWGlets.

    It’s not going to go down as my favorite year, but it could have been a lot worse. And I’m mindful of the number of families that would trade their suckage for my minor suckage in a heartbeat.

    Probably Django Unchained is the only one up there I’ll be seeing.

Leave a Reply

